Asia Destinations 2018

“Asia” encompasses a significant area of the world and includes 40 territories east of Europe and the Middle East, and south of Russia.

Asian nations and territories include the former Soviet republics (Central Asia); China, North and South Korea, Japan (North Asia); the Indian sub-continent (South Asia); South East Asia and the ‘Pacific Rim’ and some Indian Ocean islands. Use our free ASIA FAST FACTS Android app or mobile web site which gives you the whole of Asia in the palm of your hand!


Asia Map – all of Asia

RetireAsia currently features the Southeast Asian region which includes ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) as well as East Timor, making a total of 11 countries. From time to time we will add articles of interest and links to websites and organisations in other countries of Asia, whether or not they could be considered as ‘foreign’ or ‘expat’ retirement destinations.

You can retire almost anywhere if you have sufficient income and any required visa. Retire-Asia aims to suggest ways to earn more money – wherever there’s an internet connection!

As a first time visitor looking for a taste of life as an expat in an Asian country, one of the best ways is to take a vacation but not book into a hotel or resort. There are vacation rentals available where you will stay in a house and self-cater; this will often be in an area where other foreign residents live. If you are travelling with family or friends, a holiday rental will be considerably cheaper than staying in hotels and eating only in restaurants.

South East Asia is the region south of China, east of India and north of Australia.


Brunei  |  Cambodia  |  Indonesia  |  Laos  |  Malaysia  |  Myanmar  |  Philippines  |  Singapore  |  Thailand  |  Timor Leste  |  Vietnam

Here are the flags of the 10 ASEAN Member Nations of South East Asia:


ASEAN member country flags including
Timor-Leste (applied)*


Apart from some small islands or archipelagos (groups of islands) like Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands administered by Australia, Southeast Asia includes eleven countries which are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (which is still referred to as Burma by some), the  Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and East Timor (Timor-Leste).

* Although Timor-Leste (East Timor) has not yet been accepted into ASEAN, it has been a member of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) since 2005 and has committed to comply with the relevant requirements by 2015.

Countries covered in some detail on our website presently include Thailand, Philippines, Laos, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, Timor Leste and Bali, Indonesia’s best-known exotic holiday island province.


Southeast Asia Map

Find useful travel information for other SE Asian countries not yet covered on RetireAsia pages here:

Burma (Myanmar)CambodiaChristmas IslandCocos (Keeling) IslandsIndonesia (all islands)

North Asia & Pacific Rim region:
Mainland ChinaHong KongShenzhenMacauTibetTaiwan; also MongoliaSouth KoreaJapan

South Asia region:
BhutanNepalIndia & KashmirMaldivesCocos (Keeling)Sri LankaBangladeshPakistan.

General Visa Information | Home

Copyright © Retire Asia Mobile